Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

Nursery and Reception year groups have separate classrooms on the ground floor and share the outside space. The children in Reception (Star and Moon classes) have opportunities to share the learning activities across both spaces, but mainly stay in their own classroom.

Every child is valued as an individual and independent learning is encouraged. When each child joins our Nursery or Reception classes, their strengths are identified. Teaching is planned in order to nurture children’s specific interests and to offer appropriate challenge to each child. Children are given opportunities to plan their own activities which are developed over time. We focus on the progression of key skills which children need in order to become confident and robust learners.

The EYFS curriculum is delivered through structured play where learning has been clearly identified. In the reception classes children also learn and make progress through structured whole class sessions, such as daily phonics lessons.

The curriculum is learnt across seven main areas. The first three are known as ‘Prime Areas’, as children’s development in these areas underpins all learning.

Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

This enables children to develop self worth and respect for others, forming positive relationships with their peers and adults. Children learn to socialise, manage and identify their feelings, differentiate between right and wrong, understand appropriate behaviour and gain confidence in their approach.

Communication and Language

Children are given opportunities which enable them to develop skills in expressing themselves confidently, listen to others and speak in a range of situations. A range of activities are initiated which support vocabulary extension.

Physical Development

This involves developing a range of fine and gross motor skills, co-ordination, control and movement, through the provision of opportunities for children to be active and interactive. The children are supported to understand the importance of keeping healthy by being physically active and choosing foods which promote health.

Specific Areas

The following four areas of learning are known as ‘Specific Areas’:

Literacy Development

Children are developed and encouraged to begin to link sounds and letters and take the first steps in learning how to read and write. A range of reading opportunities are given through a variety of books and the interactive whiteboard and the children are introduced to fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Children begin to learn how to spell and write. They are given adult directed and free writing opportunities. All their efforts are valued as they are supported to develop writing skills.

Mathematical Development

The children are provided with activities and opportunities which enable them to begin to: count; recognise, understand and use numbers; make simple calculations; identify and describe shapes; have an understanding of space and begin to compare and contrast measurements of length, weight and capacity.

Understanding the world (not Understanding of the World)

This involves guiding our children to make sense of the physical world, the local community, people, places, technology and the environment through exploration, observation, discussion and investigation.

Expressive arts and design

Children are given opportunities to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials. They are encouraged to be creative and develop their own ideas through art, music, drama, movement, role play, design and technology.